Everything Sad Is Coming Untrue

Image Source: http://poetrystoryteller.blogspot.com/2012/07/everything-sad-is-coming-untrue.html

Hello my dear friends! I wanted to take a moment to wish you all a very happy Easter!

I know that Easter means a lot of different things to different people. I think for all of us, regardless of our religious inclinations, there is a strong sense at this time of year of rebirth and renewal. The long, cold, dark winter has passed and the colors and fruits of spring are beginning to reveal thier beauty. The birds are singing and carefully building nests for their new young. Every ray of sunshine and cool breeze whispers hope and new life. And we are filled with gratitude that we have come out of the dark, for the family and friends that surround us, and for the bounty this good earth gives us. I am personally grateful for the utterly decadant coconut creme and Cadbury Eggs I get from my dad on Easter morning every year! What great reasons to celebrate!

This is the heart of resurrection. New life springing up in the midst of the old. Death and darkness not given the last word. All things being made new. To borrow a line from Tolkien, “everything sad is coming untrue.” Or as N.T. Wright says in Surprised By Hope, “Easter is about new creation, a huge and stunning fresh gift of transforming grace…”

So, however you celebrate today, and whatever it means to you, I hope that you are filled again with a sense of hope and wonder and gratitude. That you will take a moment to drink in the beauty of the earth all around us. That you will be blessed with the love and comfort of friends and family. That you will drink and eat and laugh and that your heart will be joyous and at peace.

I am also sharing a couple things that I have meant a lot to me on this Easter Sunday. First, Rob Bell’s video “Resurrection” is one that I watch every year and pretty much perfectly encapsulates what resurrection means to me. In my times of doubt or indifference, this video makes me believe again.

This second one is a song called “Everything Sad Is Coming Untrue” by an artist named Jason Gray. I have been listening to this song a lot the last couple days, and it also, I think, perfectly embodies the spirit of resurrection. Many thanks to my besties JB & Kimmy for introducing me to this song!

Have a wonderful Easter! Much love to you all!

Leave a Reply

